47 players, two coaches earn All-PCAC

47 players, two coaches earn All-PCAC

The men's basketball playoffs are just around the corner, which means it is time for the coaches in the Pacific Coast Athletic Conference to gather and do some bookkeeping tasks.  One of those jobs was determining an all-conference squad, which was released on Monday.

San Bernardino Valley's Roman Silva and Mt. San Jacinto's David Thompson were recognized as the North Division Co-MVP recipients while Southwestern's Marquavian Stephens was named the South Division MVP.

Silva and the Wolverines finished the regular season 22-6 overall and 9-1 in PCAC North Division play, capturing the division title.  Thompson led Mt. San Jacinto to a 22-5 overall record and a 7-3 finish in PCAC North play.  Stephens and the Jaguars won the PCAC South Division title, finishing 24-4 overall and 10-0 in conference play.

Joining Silva and Thompson on the All-PCAC North First Team were San Bernardino's Damani Washington and Nathan Pendarvis, Mt. San Jacinto's C.J. Hyder and Deshawn Millington, San Diego Miramar's Blake Seits and Damien Miller, and Desert's Sam Skipper.

Joining Stephenson on the All-PCAC South First Team were Southwestern's Jordan Cooke and Nathaniel Pearson, San Diego City's Joseph Riley and Robby Robinson, Grossmont's Lamon Hudson, Imperial Valley's Alvin Martin, San Diego Mesa's Aren Thompson, and Cuyamaca's Frankie Gutierrez. 

Coach-of-the-Year honors went to San Bernardino Valley coach Quincy Brewer and Southwestern coach John Cosentino.

The brackets for the CCCAA Southern California Regional Tournament were also announced on Monday, with five programs from the PCAC making the field of 20.  PCAC champions San Bernardino Valley and Southwestern will meet in the opening round on Friday night in Chula Vista after SBVC was seeded ninth and Southwestern eighth.  Mt. San Jacinto will play at Riverside City College on Friday night after being seeded 10th overall.  San Diego City (18-seed) and Miramar (17-seed) will start with play-in games on Wednesday night, with San Diego City traveling to Santa Monica College and Miramar traveling to Allan Hancock College.  SOCAL BRACKET

PCAC North MVP(s) School   PCAC South MVP School
Roman Silva San Bernardino Valley   Marquavian Stephenson Southwestern
David Thompson Mt. San Jacinto      
PCAC North First Team School   PCAC South First Team School
Blake Seits San Diego Miramar   Alvin Martin Imperial Valley
C.J. Hyder Mt. San Jacinto   Aren Thomas San Diego Mesa
Damani Washington San Bernardino Valley   Frankie Gutierrez Cuyamaca
Damien Miller San Diego Miramar   Jordan Cooke Southwestern
Deshawn Millington Mt. San Jacinto   Joseph Riley San Diego City
Nathan Pendarvis San Bernardino Valley   Lamon Hudson Grossmont
Sam Skipper Desert   Nathaniel Pearson Southwestern
      Robby Robinson San Diego City 
PCAC North Second Team School   PCAC South Second Team School
Eric Hancik San Bernardino Valley   Adrian Lee San Diego Mesa
Jamario Harris Palomar   Cameron Hill San Diego Mesa
K'Lon Williams San Bernardino Valley   D.J. Wilson Southwestern
Luka Filipovic Mt. San Jacinto   Joseph Davis San Diego Mesa
Nicholas Pete Desert   Marc Combs Southwestern
Xavier Allison MiraCosta   NaShom Carter San Diego City
PCAC North HM School   PCAC South HM School
Artis Chapman San Diego Miramar   Javon Nutter Imperial Valley
Brandon Thompson San Bernardino Valley   Josh Burton Grossmont
Cole Cummings San Diego Miramar   Kai Huntsberry San Diego City
Devyian Roberson MiraCosta   Marc Cabrera Grossmont
Dirk Helaire Jr. MiraCosta   Maurice White Imperial Valley
Gunnar Mogolis Desert   Moses Smith Cuyamaca
Kobe Gatti San Diego Miramar   Quincy Ferebee Southwestern
Michael Chatman Palomar   Timberland Mills Imperial Valley
      Tyler Simmons Southwestern


Credit: PCAC