San Diego Mesa wins DeVore Trophy

San Diego Mesa wins DeVore Trophy

The San Diego Mesa athletics department has won the DeVore Trophy for the 2018-19 calendar year.  The DeVore Award is given to the athletic program in the Pacific Coast Athletic Conference that has accumulated the highest average of points based upon results during the calendar year.

San Diego Mesa captured PCAC titles in baseball, men's cross country, men's track & field, women's swim & dive, women's water polo and women's volleyball and were second in men's swimming, women's soccer, softball and women's track & field.  In addition, the Olympians finished second in the state in women's swim & dive while finishing third in men's cross country. Mesa finished with a total of 217 total points overall in winning the DeVore Trophy.

Grossmont College was the runner-up for the DeVore Trophy after capturing PCAC titles in men's swim & dive, women's tennis, men's volleyball, men's water polo and women's beach volleyball as well as a co-championship in women's basketball.  The Griffins ended up sweeping everything in women's beach volleyball, winning a state title and having a duo capture the pairs state title.  

The win for Mesa was the first time winning the DeVore Trophy since the 2011-12 calendar year.  

The DeVore Award is named after the late Chester S. "Chet" DeVore, founding Commissioner of the Pacific Coast Conference. DeVore was President / Superintendent of Southwestern College in Chula Vista from 1961, when he supervised construction and development of its new Chula Vista campus, until his retirement as one of the nation's most respected community college CEOs 21 years later. He became the first Commissioner of the PCAC, the host conference for community college athletics in San Diego County and Imperial County, in 1982. He served until his retirement from that post in 1998.  DeVore, a World War II hero and Purple Heart and Bronze Star recipient who left a long legacy both in academics and athletics at college, conference, state and national levels, died in January 2011. He was 92.

Chet DeVore Trophy History

Year Program Athletic Director
2018-19 San Diego Mesa Ryan Shumaker
2017-18 MiraCosta Pat Conahan
2016-17 Grossmont Thomas Armstrong
2015-16 Grossmont Jim Spillers / Donivan Marthis
2014-15 Palomar Scott Cathcart
2013-14 Grossmont Jim Spillers
2012-13 Palomar Scott Cathcart
2011-12 San Diego Mesa Dave Evans
2010-11 Southwestern Terry Davis
2009-10 Palomar Scott Cathcart